Seminar Reviews

Please select seminar you are interested in from the drop down menu.
To post the new seminar review, click here

Breath & Bodywork ( by Paul Hermanson, 60 words )

I just wanted to say thank you for the great seminar, I learned a lot about myself, it was a real pleasure to finally meet you,\r\nyou are are a bundle of so much valuable information. \r\nI hope I can get back up again soon.\r\nEverybody is so kind and nice, and helpful, from the bottom of my heart, thank you again.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2018-10-02 12:05:36
Summit of Masters, Germany | Systema Founders ( by Jose Rodulfo, 312 words )

Summit of Masters Bonn, Germany was another great experience with the masters. Mikhail's work was quite challenging. It appeared quite simple when he demonstrated it, but let me say - think again. I left this seminar with the full understanding of why Systema got the UN award for BEST NON-DESTRUCTIVE MARTIAL ART. There is no work like Mikhail's subtle work, just amazing. There was a point in the seminar when Mikhail gave us a drill to go find and he came off station for about 20 minutes. During that time I gazed around a bit and thought to myself that this is not what he showed. Most of us were doing something different. When Mikhail returned back on station, his words were, “all I can see here is good wrestling”. After that, the energy in the room shifted to a more positive vibe. Vlad's work as usual was outstanding. It was really great to see him in the mix with us. It was quite the challenge for most people to find more than one person. Luckily, for those of us who have attended Vlad's seminars, we were right on point with these drills. Big thanks to Danil Ryabko, he spent some time with me and gave me a better understanding of this subtle work. Also, Jason from Systema HQ, I was very impressed with his knowledge. Mikhail's demonstration with me was really something to think about. I tried to push him with my fist and he did not move, so I tried again, this time planting my feet firmly into the floor. He suddenly looked at my feet, my fist looked so small on him, and he broke out into a big giggle. We both had a good laugh. Overall, this Non-Aggressive type work is the best. Like always, it is a great experience to see and learn from our Masters.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2018-05-23 15:46:26
Personal Protection Seminar - March 3 - 4, 2018 ( by Marcos Carpio, 14 words )

The seminar was phenomenal. Every time I come I wish I could stay longer.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2018-03-06 16:26:49
Personal Protection Seminar - March 3 - 4, 2018 ( by Kenneth Dekleva, 152 words )

I am writing to tell you how much I enjoyed the seminar on personal protection. You highlighted basic, common-sense concepts, which are fundamental to Systema as well as different types of personal protection. Most students who are not in the fields of law enforcement, military, or executive protection can still find much value in the topics which you shared with us. I especially liked the drills with partners as well as the sensitivity training drills. I felt that such drills can help one improve one's situational awareness. This course should be taught to non-martial artists as well. Sadly, today in the United States, it's not out of the real of possibility to encounter 'active shooter' scenarios in the workplace, other venues (malls, sports events, concerts), or at school (while dropping off or picking up one's children). The situational awareness skills which you taught could literally be life-saving.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2018-03-06 16:29:15
PARAMETERS OF POWER by Vladimir Vasiliev in Toronto ( by Cash Nickerson, 717 words )

Traditional martial arts recognize student development by awarding a series of belts and stripes leading to black belt and advanced degrees of black belt. Systema practitioners and critics are sometimes frustrated by the lack of a simple rational progression sequence like, “learn these 15 techniques and these 3 katas and you will move on to the next level.” Systema’s layers are subtle and internal and you feel the progress or you don’t; it is personal. It truly is “your Systema.” Those of us who were fortunate enough to attend Parameters of Power got a glimpse of the deep and advanced Systema. The progressions were designed to remind us of what we had to unlearn, review what we had learned and then take us to a new level. Most improvements began with the use of tension and force. This was a reminder of what we had to unlearn early on. At the beginning of each exercise, we used what is commonly thought of as power. We used brute force. In the second phase, we used relaxation techniques to perform offensive or defensive moves. This was classical Systema as we have learned it. We breathe, we move, we keep our form in a relaxed fashion and state. We are all familiar with these exercises. Systema breathing and relaxation is fundamental to our style. But Parameters of Power introduced us to a new level. Vladimir presented us to new exercises (new for me) in which he taught us to alternate and vary our relaxation and tension or at least use degrees of relaxed movement to our advantage to create power. We now gained power, like electricity, by creating and removing tension in our opponent. Our power was like electricity with alternating currents. As an example, when we are hit, if we are tense, the pain of a hit resonates on us like the skin of drum. Power in the traditional sense is how hard can you hit and how hard a hit you can take. I hit you 9 times and you hit me 8. I knock you down. I win. While Systema teaches us to relax and not take the hit in the traditional sense. We relax, we move, we don’t want to just take strikes, but our breathing and relaxation make us not afraid of being hit and reduce the pain of the strikes when we are hit. But there is a third level, the alternating current level. The third level training is the taking of the punch, relaxing to a point and then countering with tension or at least less relaxation. We alternate from relaxation to tension to relaxation. The same is true as we wrestle. We relax so as not to give support to our opponent. We then give some tension creating artificial support and then strategically remove the tension and the opponent falls into the relaxation. We strategically alternate tension and relaxation. We didn’t learn techniques because Systema isn’t about techniques. We learned how to understand our opponents. We learned how to lead opponents with our eyes, sense opponent’s intentions before they strike or kick. We learned to study their structure. We practiced being a step ahead because we understood and studied them. Techniques in martial arts are pre-programmed moves designed for a type of situation. Many of us have advanced training in other martial arts and when a punch comes, we have multiple techniques that are pre-programmed to “fire.” But the reason I fly from Texas at least twice a year to attend Vladimir’s seminars in Toronto is because in real life, you aren’t dealing with a theoretical punch or kick. You are dealing with another human being, a unique human being. To succeed if a conflict becomes necessary, you need to understand them and be able to use your Systema skills to deal with that person at that time and in that place and play the one card they least expect: the card that is relaxed and ready for them. The card that is ready to use their tension and our trained ability to alternate our current to meet them how they are. This card is the Systema trump card and we spent great time working it at Parameters of Power. Thank you to Vladimir, Valerie and all my training partners for an incredible seminar. Humbly Yours, Cash Nickerson


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2017-08-17 16:03:16
PARAMETERS OF POWER by Vladimir Vasiliev in Toronto ( by Johnny Medero, 290 words )

This seminar was totally different to what I was accustomed to. What I am typically used to is the physical: punching, kicking, grappling, yeah. The normal stuff right. But this seminar hit on a topic that doesn't really get discussed too often. Made me realize how much I don't know. It was more on the physiological of the person. It went very deep to the point that you really had to pay attention to every fiber of your being and also your partner. In a way we are all connected and not too many martial arts delves into this aspect of combat. When an enemy approaches with mal intent you have pretty much two choices: to let their anger paralyze us or divert it with care. Emotions run deep within us and if aloud we can exploit them with tender loving care. At this seminar, it taught me that our emotions can transmit to the persons physique to the cellular level. Every fiber of our being is interconnected to take or receive and it's up to us to decide what to give. Where is our thought process? Where are we in life? Are we fearful of what's to come or do we encompass peace that we give it within our movements. Vladimir's transcendence into this aspect of martial arts was known within this seminar that the participants were in awe at his movements. But it was with humility and peace that his deliverance was being projected. To show us that it is achievable but we have to let go of the baggage that keeps us from the power from within. Only when we truly realize that there is no spoon is where we can finally feel/see that love conquers all.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2017-08-18 11:14:10
PARAMETERS OF POWER by Vladimir Vasiliev in Toronto ( by John Oprea, 43 words )

Parameters of power training with Vladimir Vasiliev was like training football with Messi. You know that you will never get to his skill but sure as hell that now you can take a goal with a smile and give a beating on your street.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2017-08-18 11:27:54
PARAMETERS OF POWER by Vladimir Vasiliev in Toronto ( by Jose Rodulfo, 285 words )

What an interesting seminar it was! At the Parameters seminar, Vladimir brought me up and demonstrated how easy it was to make me unaware of my space. Someone mentioned that he tricked me three times, I answered no, he just taught us an awesome lesson on awareness, how to keep our surroundings in mind always. Vladimir said to always see the full person. Anyone can hit, but escaping without contact is much more challenging. Fighting without fighting is Supreme work. Some of my training partners did not understand what Vladimir meant by ‘finding emptiness in yourself, outside of yourself, inside your opponent, and outside of him’. I’d like to share my understanding of these concepts. I had my partner punch me a few times, then with my breathwork, I removed my stomach from the line of fire. He was shocked that my stomach was no longer in range but I was still standing on the same spot (this was finding space within myself to escape). I also explained that maybe Systema is like karma, what you give is what you get. Next, I was punched but at the same time I escaped and gave it back, the surprise on my opponent’s face was profound. When Vladimir said you had to find the person, I believe it is when you feel the tipping point of the person. Vladimir also spoke about softness and speed. We are truly blessed to have this type of work taught to us and should embrace it in every form, seeing ten grown men pushing on Vladimir and then like magic with complete ease he moves all of them, without the appearance of fighting. This subtle work is the road map to that success.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2017-09-10 15:33:42
PARAMETERS OF POWER by Vladimir Vasiliev in Toronto ( by Jose Rodulfo, 437 words )

Parameters of Power. What an interesting seminar it was! I became more aware of this type of work after seeing Mikhail demonstrate it in Rome earlier this year. At the Parameters seminar, Vladimir brought me up and demonstrated how easy it was to make me unaware of my space. Someone mentioned that he tricked me three times, I answered no, he just taught us an awesome lesson on awareness, how to keep our surroundings in mind always. Vladimir said to always see the full person. Anyone can hit, but escaping without contact is much more challenging. Fighting without fighting is Supreme work. In Mikhail words, a professional is never aggressive or stands out. Some of my training partners did not understand what Vladimir meant by ‘finding emptiness in yourself, outside of yourself, inside your opponent, and outside of him’. I’d like to share my understanding of these concepts. I had my partner punch me a few times, then with my breathwork, I removed my stomach from the line of fire. He was shocked that my stomach was no longer in range but I was still standing on the same spot (this was finding space within myself to escape). I also explained that maybe Systema is like karma, what you give is what you get. Next, I was punched but at the same time I escaped and gave it back, the surprize on my opponent’s face was profound. When Vladimir said you had to find the person, I believe it is when you feel the tipping point of the person. Vladimir also spoke about softness and speed. An exact demo of this is in the training video Movement and Precision, there you would see smooth and continuous movement with surgical precision. These moves create calm and devastating results of a professional. We are truly blessed to have this type of work taught to us and should embrace it in every form, seeing ten grown men pushing on Vladimir and then like magic with complete ease he moves all of them, without the appearance of fighting. I was able to escape without contact and put my training partner down with one finger. When asked how did you do that, well I said this is the Parameters of Power. It appeared that if participants tried to see how best and hard they can strike, this consumed them and they were actually blind to anything else. Most of us sit there with our mouths open and watch Vladimir and Mikhail in amazement and wonder how did they do this or that. Well, this subtle work is the road map to that success.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2017-09-10 15:33:52
ALL THINGS KNIFE by Vladimir Vasiliev in Belgium ( by Norbert Tannert, 42 words ) http://systema-bonn.de/

Another really awesome seminar! I always ask myself how he’s getting it together to teach over 200 people of completely different skill levels and everybody gets something out of it for his personal training (of course me included). This is absolutely great stuff!!!


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2017-07-18 21:24:54
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 267 reviews)  1  2  3  4  5 ...  Next  >