Seminar Reviews

Please select seminar you are interested in from the drop down menu.
To post the new seminar review, click here

AGAINST TENSION - Mikhail Ryabko & Vladimir Vasiliev in Moscow ( by Jamie Lippiatt, 344 words )

Two weeks ago, I was lucky enough to attend the annual International Seminar held in Moscow by the incredible Systema founder Mikhail Ryabko. While I have been attending this seminar every year for the past few years and have spent a lot of time training in Moscow, this seminar took Systema to a whole new level. It was unique in the fact that, for first time in a long time, my teacher, Vladimir Vasiliev, joined Mikhail for the seminar, but more than that was what was revealed for possibly the first time. Mikhail shared incredible insights that opened up what is known in Moscow as the third layer or school of Systema also known as the Closed School. Taking things even deeper than he has in the fast few years with his emphasis on the Internal School and far beyond what\'s known as the Physical School. \r\nSince Mikhail first began teaching and demonstrating Systema, students have been continuously baffled by the unprecedented skill and power Mikhail has displayed in both combat and life. In this seminar, he revealed to everyone just how he does it and why simply training in a conventional sense will never lead to such skill. Working not with the body or even the energy of life, but instead harnessing a state of consciousness that transcends everything and quite honestly changes your view of reality and from this place, combative skill and lifestyle become rather simple. \r\nGetting to that point however, requires an enormous level of commitment to self and a reality beyond that, but it is simple enough to be achievable by anyone with the right amount of faith and dedication. I look forward to the expansion and study of the work to come and am eternally grateful to have been a part of this seminar as well as the Systema community as a whole. The tireless work of Mikhail Ryabko and Vladimir Vasiliev in teaching and spreading this incredible art is a true gift to the world and humanity and I am honoured to be a part of it.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2019-10-14 16:19:52
AGAINST TENSION ( by Tony L., 107 words )

This weekend seminar was a very pleasant experience, not sure how many participants, but everything was so harmoniously orchestrated it felt like a big family. The lessons that Vladimir offers are always a step above where I am, and watching how the training transforms people is very inspiring. It shows that Systema is a fantastic tool for personal growth and for health. The martial skills of incredible power are shared in a humane way that promote respect for others and life. Through correct breath posture and movement, strong mental awareness is developed, as demonstrated by Vladimir and the core students. My words of admiration and gratitude fall short. Thank you, Tony


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2019-08-27 14:22:12
AGAINST TENSION ( by Rick S, 62 words )

I had a wonderful time. I met so many great people and learned so much. I look forward to the next time and will be joyfully practicing what so many shared. gladly and freely. And of course, my special thanks to Vladimir. The man who brings together a sense of community with humor, dignity and exceptional effortless skill. My respect and thanks.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2019-09-25 12:01:23
Train to Prevail - Vladimir Vasiliev in Oslo, Norway ( by Jim Bergdoll, 113 words )

So I just attended the seminar in Oslo, Train to Prevail. Once again, I am left astounded by the training I am blessed to have received. My daughter and I flew to Oslo from Maine, USA. The seminar proved to be worth every mile. Vladimir left us wishing the seminar would never end, but, for his sake I\'m glad it did. The man puts out so much and is there to help far beyond the scope of the seminar. Gratitude is also given to Valerie as she is able to help us understand what Vladimir says. I look forward with great anticipation to the next time I can train with Vladimir and Valerie!


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2019-06-04 15:28:11
Structure of Systema - Vladimir Vasiliev in England ( by Will Robinson, 474 words ) https://fromrootstobranches.co.uk/2019/03/28/dont-step-just-move/

Last weekend I was lucky enough to train with the Russian martial artist and Systema master Vladimir Vasiliev alongside other teachers and students from all over the UK and even further afield. The workshop was looking at ‘the Structure of Systema’, for two days we practiced some of the fundamentals of the enigmatic martial art.\r\n\r\n \r\n\r\nOne of the most inspiring ideas for me came from a few words Vladimir said as we were working on walking relaxed centered way. He would demonstrate with a student in the middle of the hall, talk them through some of the Systema breathing principles and say “Okay, now move”. The first few times as the student began to walk he called them back, “No no, you took a step. Don’t step, just move”…\r\n\r\n \r\n\r\nThe confusion of trying to discern a difference between the two took me right back to working with my Alexander Technique teacher years ago. The situation and the wording was a little different, I was sat down and she told me to move my arm, rather than lifting my arm. Up and down my arm went, I can’t even remember whether or not I got her approval on moving it in the end, but I can remember the frustration of thinking “but I AM moving!” It seems a little clearer now perhaps, while walking circles round the hall last weekend I felt that a ‘step’ has a beginning and an end whereas to ‘move’ is flowing on continuously.\r\n\r\n \r\n\r\nTowards the end of the weekend I was doing some light sparring with a trainee instructor at the club where I had recently begun training and something else came up that took me right back to the early days of my explorations into movement.\r\n\r\n \r\n\r\n“I think lots of people are get too fixed on a particular goal” he said while throwing a jab that caught me gently round the jaw “you know, like, I want to hit them there or grab them like that, and that gets in the way of them being able to react”. F.M. Alexander may have called it ‘end gaining’ but the idea is the same, fixation on a goal can obstruct the effectiveness of movement in the face of an ever changing environment, “Don’t step, just move.”\r\n\r\n \r\n\r\nFor anyone who is curious I can fully recommend Systema training, the freeform drills are engaging, exploratory and a whole lot of fun. It’s added new depth and practical insight into movements I’ve been practicing for years, I’ve only been doing it a couple of weeks and I’m already hooked! And likewise , even if you don’t train Systema, Vladamir Vasiliev is an inspiring teacher, sharing his skill with a great mixture of humour, humility and a contagious sense of enjoyment in what he does, go see him if you ever get the chance!


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2019-08-31 18:24:18
EDGE seminar February 23 - 24, 2019 ( by Ken Dekleva, 16 words )

I enjoyed the seminar a great deal. It was first-rate and gave us much to study.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2019-03-13 15:38:52
Awareness. Speed. Power. Vladimir Vasiliev in Switzerland ( by Gonzague Petit, 131 words )

Hello everyone, I was with the systema team from Aix en Provence at the Bern internship with Vladimir Vasiliev. I want to thank him for his excellent teaching and the quality of his attention to all students with great humility and generosity. \r\nI thought that I was neither physically nor spiritually ready and yet I managed to go through, even though I often failed. I believe the Systema is the \"holy grail\" of all martial arts. I had to unlearn before understanding and learning through the help of all those who are in good attitude to work. As Ryabko says, \"do not try to win but work with each other then you\'ll learn\". \r\nI would also like to thank all the organizing team of Bern who was fantastic in their accompaniment.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2018-11-16 13:23:08
Breath & Bodywork ( by Paul Hermanson, 60 words )

I just wanted to say thank you for the great seminar, I learned a lot about myself, it was a real pleasure to finally meet you,\r\nyou are are a bundle of so much valuable information. \r\nI hope I can get back up again soon.\r\nEverybody is so kind and nice, and helpful, from the bottom of my heart, thank you again.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2018-10-02 12:05:36
Breath & Bodywork ( by George Kruchinina, 118 words )

I would like to thank the Systema Toronto HQ school for such an amazing seminar and environment.\r\n \r\nI honestly am already better off in my immediate work environment for it. One gentleman has particularly said I seem \"deep\" for my age, haha. And it\'s inspired me to become even better and healthier inside of my body and mind. For myself. And, as my colleague at work has led me to realize -- so that I can be better and inspire others as well.\r\n \r\nOf course, it\'s my responsibility to keep it up -- but this class helped me greatly in staying on the right path.\r\n \r\nBut I really look forward to the next time we meet. Until then!


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2018-11-04 14:59:16
Breath & Bodywork ( by Kim Truong, 97 words )

I\'m grateful I got the chance to experience your remarkable coaching skills in the seminar. I wanted to give up so many times while doing the breath exercises, but your humor and confidence convinced me to persevere. You taught me such a valuable lesson about looking outwards and pushing my preconceived limits. I think I better understand the meaning of self pity. I am already looking at my workplace and life challenges differently. Thank you for your warmth and positive influence on my local instructors.\r\n\r\nI can\'t wait to return to Toronto. Thank you for a memorable weekend.


Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!]
Date Added: 2018-11-04 15:00:46
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 277 reviews)  1  2  3  4  5 ...  Next  >